A Hastily-Written Recantation of the Rare Political Post

YourVoteCounts-480x480Well, here I am writing a recantation of an earlier post regarding how I think American Christians should vote in the upcoming presidential election. I mentioned in that post how I very rarely write about politics. Now, the one time I do write about it, I end up just a few months later writing this recantation. The truth is I never in my most vivid nightmares thought we’d end up where we are, with Trump and Clinton, most likely, as the two candidates for the US presidency. Wow!

So, the question I have to ask myself is, “OK, Jono, how do you apply what you wrote to this horrible mess?”

If you recall, I mentioned that I think we should vote for the candidate who will provide the least hindrance to Christians practicing what our Lord commanded, worship and evangelism. I also said that it would be useless to vote for a candidate who has no chance of winning, like any third-party candidate. I basically advocated for the lesser of two evils.

So, how would I apply that to this election cycle?

Um…I, uh… don’t really know. You see, we’re most likely looking at Trump or Clinton, though Sanders still has a chance. How would you rank those three from best for our country to worst? Allow me to ask an equally difficult question that I believe illustrates the situation in which we find ourselves. How would you rank the following items in terms of which would be best to mold into a sculpture with your bare hands: a titanium wedding ring, the Hope Diamond, or my mother’s generations-old cast-iron frying pan. That’s seems to be the options we’re given. It would take a miracle of God to mold any of those items into a sculpture with our bare hands. It would take a miracle of God for any of the possible candidates from the two primary parties to be effective at benefiting America or the Kingdom.

So, where does that leave me and my embarrassing post? Well, it leaves me a little red-faced. It leaves me with this recantation of that previous post, which is always embarrassing for a blogger.

Fortunately, fixing my mess here is a lot easier than fixing the mess in which America finds herself, and even easier yet than fixing the mess in which America will be after November. I have to appeal to conscience at this point. I still believe that the Christians of America should be concerned with the Kingdom of God more than with America, but we also must be concerned with conscience. It’s a horrible situation in which we find ourselves. If nothing else, I want to be able to say that I kept my conscience clear in my voting; I would feel very sullied if I cast my vote for Trump, Clinton, or Sanders.

Regardless of the outcome or how little initial impact it may make on the elections this year, I have decided that I can do no better than to vote my conscience, which means voting third party. I cannot, in good conscience, vote for any of the three remaining possible candidates running for the two major parties.

Here I stand, embarrassed but resolved.

4 thoughts on “A Hastily-Written Recantation of the Rare Political Post

  1. Pingback: By the way… Which Nation’s Well-being Will Guide Your US Presidential Vote? | By the way...

  2. “The truth is I never in my most vivid nightmares thought we’d end up where we are, with Trump and Clinton, most likely, as the two candidates for the US presidency. Wow!” – yeah, me too. At this point, I may just write in my own candidate! I liked Marco Rubio, so I may vote for him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your comment, Laura. It’s always nice to get positive recognition (or any recognition) from writers who are so much more accomplished than I am. For the few readers of mine that see this, I recommend you check out Laura’s blog and other writings. Her last name is Martin, but there’s no relation. (Well, there is that Noah guy who we’re both related to.)

      Anyway, I believe I’ll be voting for the Constitution Party candidate. That party doesn’t have ballot access in all the states, but it does here in Michigan. Here are their values: http://www.constitutionparty.com/our-principles/seven-principles/

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

