You CAN Read the Bible in 90 Days — Repost

This was originally posted on January 18, 2014. Since we’re about to begin our next Bible in 90 Days, I wanted to repost this. I’ve edited it to reflect the current dates.

Bible90DaysStarting in a few weeks, a group of people will begin reading the Bible at a pretty good clip. We will be reading through the entire Bible, either straight through, chronologically, or by using whatever plan each person prefers, in 90 days, and we want you to join us. The schedule is February 1 – April 30, 2016.

I can hear people saying it now: “Jono, I’ve never been able to read the whole Bible in a year! How in the world can I do it in just 90 days?”

Honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever read the Bible straight through in a year either despite several failed attempts. I’m a slow reader and I easily get bogged down in some portions of Scripture. But there are a few reasons why this is different.

  1. First off, 90 days is a much easier commitment than a year. I find it much easier to think about keeping up the pace for 90 days than for an entire year. For a 3-month commitment, the end is in sight as soon as you start.
  2. Doing it with a group helps keep me accountable. We won’t all be at the same place each day, but we can post or email our progress for encouragement and accountability.
  3. Having a set start date that’s not January 1st gives me a sense of mission. This is much more subjective, but I’ll admit that I need that type of motivation.

With these differences in mind, I’m excited to get started. I know I can do it because I succeeded the first time we did this back in 2014 (we’re doing this every even year), so I have high hopes that I’ll be able to accomplish this challenge this time as well. I know you can, too!

But there’s more than that. There are also some great benefits that come from accomplishing this challenge:

  1. My wife, Debi, did this challenge in 2012 and she says it has revolutionized her Bible reading. Not only was it rewarding to see the large scope of Scripture, but it redeveloped the habit in her life of consistently and regularly reading the Bible. “Now,” she says, “I read it much more regularly than I used to, and I’m more consistently in God’s Word and learning what He has to say.”
  2. For me, I like that this forces me to see the whole story of the Bible from a very high altitude. I usually like getting down to the nitty gritty details of words, word origins, how the author intended to use this word in that verse for that circumstance, etc. That’s a very rewarding way of studying the Bible, but I can easily lose sight of the forest for the trees (and branches, and leaves, and spongy mesophyll, and cells, and pieces of cells, and the pieces of those pieces, ad nauseam). Reading the entire Bible in such a short period of time forces me to see that “forest” again.
  3. Others have mentioned how it forced them to grow in discipline. It has done this for me as well.
  4. There are also testimonials of those who say that doing the Bible in 90 Days challenge has forced them to see context they’d never noticed before.
  5. Some have also said that it made the “one story” of the Bible so much more clear.

I’m looking forward to April 30 (hopefully) when I finish reading Revelation 22. I can picture myself tired but satisfied, enjoying these benefits of having accomplished this.

So, are you excited to try it? I hope you see that, though it is a time commitment and it is a challenge, it’s an achievable challenge that comes with many benefits.

You can join us by simply asking to join! We have a Facebook group (click here) if you’re on Facebook, or give me your email address and I’ll send you everything you need. Simple ask me to add you to the group or the email list and I’ll be happy to do so.

The only thing you have to do is read the Word. If you want to join in on the discussions, you are free and welcome to do so, but there are no 2-hour sessions or classes to join, etc. Just read the Bible! I think joining the group will benefit you with encouragement and accountability, but you don’t have to.

If one of your New Year’s resolutions is to spend less time in front of the TV or to be more consistent in reading the Bible, this may be a really good step in keeping it. I hope you’ll join us.

posted some tips about how to keep going when the reading pace gets tough, and I’ll be reposting those again soon. I hope you find them helpful.

2 thoughts on “You CAN Read the Bible in 90 Days — Repost

  1. Pingback: Some Tips to Reading the Bible in 90 Days — Repost | By the way...

  2. Pingback: How Does a Slow Reader Accomplish Reading the Bible in Just 90 Days? — Repost | By the way...

Leave a Reply

