Be Thou My Vision — A Great Piece for Choir; A Great Message

Yesterday was the last choir performance for the season for the Lake Pointe Bible Church choir. It is so much fun singing in the choir. We performed Be Thou My Vision.

As I’m learning to sing in a choir, I’m finding that I spend most of my preparation time learning the notes, the rhythm, the ups and downs, and the flow of the music, but I spend very little time on the words. I’ve learned this season that the words are more important than the rest, really. It’s the message of the song that we’re trying to communicate, and that comes through the words.

Take a couple of minutes and read through the words of Be Thou My Vision. Read them slowly and really think about what they mean. It’s a touching song, to say the least. It is to me, anyway.

Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart;
Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art.
Thou my best Thought, by day or by night,
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

Be Thou my Wisdom, and Thou my true Word;
I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord;
Thou my great Father, I Thy true son;
Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one.

Be Thou my battle Shield, Sword for the fight;
Be Thou my Dignity, Thou my Delight;
Thou my soul’s Shelter, Thou my high Tower:
Raise Thou me heavenward, O Power of my power.

Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise,
Thou mine Inheritance, now and always:
Thou and Thou only, first in my heart,
High King of Heaven, my Treasure Thou art.

High King of Heaven, my victory won,
May I reach Heaven’s joys, O bright Heaven’s Sun!
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
Still be my Vision, O Ruler of all.

If you’re interested, here’s the arrangement that we sang yesterday. This is not us singing, mind you; it’s the example of what it’s supposed to sound like. I think we did pretty well, but I’m not going to claim that we sounded like this recording.

4 thoughts on “Be Thou My Vision — A Great Piece for Choir; A Great Message

  1. One of the most precious hymns ever! Great to sing/remember/meditate on when all around me is out of (my) control.

    In His amazing grace,
    Dorothy Falkowski
    Development/Donor Relations
    SEND Interantional PO Box 513 Farmington MI 48332 248.477.4210 ext. 153

    “Faith says not, ‘I see that it is good for me, so God must have sent it,’ but, ‘God sent it, and so it must be good for me.’ Faith, walking in the dark with God, only prays Him to clasp its hand more closely.” Phillips Brooks

    Like

    • Hi Laura! Thanks for commenting. It’s a beautiful song, isn’t it? I really like it – more now that we did it in the choir. It’s easy to get caught up in this life’s trappings, but he is our inheritance. What else, of all that we strive to gather or accomplish or avoid or claim, could possibly compare with that?

      Like

Leave a Reply

