By the way… How Does a Slow Reader Accomplish Reading the Bible in Just 90 Days?

As many of you know, there’s a group of us who intend to read through the entire Bible in 90 days starting February 1st. You can read more about it here, including how you can join us.

While I imagine most people will use one of the many reading schedules available, I’ve decided that I’d probably do better to just start at “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth” and read like crazy. I’m a slow reader, so I’m going to dedicate all of my reading time to reading the Bible starting Feb 1.

For me, using one of the schedules will probably be a drag if I find myself getting behind. Also, I don’t want to give myself permission to stop reading if I finish that day’s scheduled chapters, if there’s still time left to read. I know that there will be days when life will get in the way and I won’t read as much as other days, so my plan is to just read and read and read!

There are 1,189 chapters in the Bible. That means reading an average of 13-14 chapters each day to get through it all in 90 days (1,189 ÷ 90 = 13.2). Of course the chapters are not all the same length—Psalm 117 has only 2 verses, and Psalm 119 has 176 verses.

My usual reading schedule is:
– I read 2 chapters from the Bible to start off my morning—usually 1 from the Gospels and a Psalm (this is followed by my prayer and Bible study time).
– I read from Proverbs around 10:30 each morning (that’s my work‘s unofficial coffee break time).
– I read books and articles each evening for a hour or two before going to bed.

Starting Feb 1, this is what I plan to do, all from the Bible:
– Read 2-4 chapters from the Bible to start off my morning (followed by prayer and study time).
– Read a chapter or two in the place of Proverbs at the unofficial coffee break at work.
– Read as far as I can during my lunch break (I usually listen to podcasts during lunch each day).
– Read as much as possible in the evenings.
– Read whenever I find myself waiting in a drive through or any other time I can.

I do have a couple of things I am obligated to read and I can’t neglect those, but for the most part I’ll be reading the Bible.

Though I’m not willing to guarantee I’ll be able to finish in 90 days, I’m excited to do this. If May 1 comes and I’m not done, I’ll keep up that schedule above until I am done. The rewards will be the same whether it’s 90 days or 100 days or 110 days. The worst possible thing for me to do is to give us before I’m finished.

If you’d like to join us, you are more than welcome. I hope you will.

3 thoughts on “By the way… How Does a Slow Reader Accomplish Reading the Bible in Just 90 Days?

  1. I followed the plan using the official NIV 90 Day Bible last year, but I want to read a different version this year. I have previously read Genesis in one day though, so it’s certainly possible.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the comment lillbjorne. This will be my first attempt. I’ll be using the NET Bible (my favorite translation) on my Kindle, just going straight through.

    Someday I’d like to do it chronologically, but I’ll probably want to do that in a Bible that’s setup that way. Using a regular Bible and a chronological plan will add a lot of time flipping back and forth.

    Looking forward to Feb 1!

    Like

  3. Pingback: How Does a Slow Reader Accomplish Reading the Bible in Just 90 Days? — Repost | By the way...

Leave a Reply

