By the way… Here are Some Tips to Reading the Bible in 90 Days

I posted an invitation earlier about our Bible in 90 Days challenge. In this post, I want to share some tips that I got blatantly stole from Professor Horner’s Bible Reading Plan. The plan is not a 90-day plan, but it is a 10-chapter per day plan, so it’s reading at a fast pace.

Here are the tips from Professor Horner that I edited a bit. I hope you find them useful.

Read quickly (without “speed-reading”) in order to get the overall sense. Read as fast as you comfortably can with moderate retention. You’re not studying deeply or memorizing.

GET THROUGH THE TEXT – no dawdling, back reading, looking up cross-references!

There are different ‘kinds’ of reading:

  1. Super-quick skimming
  2. Careful moderate-paced reading
  3. Studying the text
  4. Deep meditation

You should be between the 1st and 2nd kind. Most people decrease their time spent and increase their retention after just two-three weeks of this kind of reading.

Don’t look up anything you ‘don’t get’ – real understanding will come through reading a LOT of scripture over time. Get through the text!

If you miss a day or two – OK, get over it, then keep going. Don’t cover yourself in sackcloth and ashes and quit!

Good tips? They’ve helped me in my reading of Professor Horner’s system. I hope they’ll be helpful to you as well.

By the way… If you haven’t yet decided to join us, we’re starting soon. See my previous post for information on what we’re doing and how you can join us. This challenge is not an impossible one. I truly hope you’ll see that and join us.

Soli Deo Gloria

5 thoughts on “By the way… Here are Some Tips to Reading the Bible in 90 Days

  1. Pingback: By the way… You CAN Read the Bible in 90 Days | By the way ...

  2. Thanks for sharing the ideas from Horner. I agree with them. I’ve actually become a better and faster reader the last few yrs because I’ve simply learned how to be a better reader. Before I read anything, I ask myself “why” am I reading this – Pure pleasure? for a class? for personal academic enrichment? Etc. And I read accordingly…fast only concerned with the big picture…slowly and carefully, etc. Similarly, we should read the Bible in differing ways at different times. Sometimes I think we are so focused on deeply reading and studying the Bible, that we forget the importance of reading quickly and being reminded of the big picture of the Word. We are lost in puzzle pieces, and forget the Bible is a beautiful, complete picture! I hope your 90 day plan goes well for all involved!!

    Like

  3. Thanks Laura! I completely agree about getting lost in the trees (and branches and leaves and veins in the leaves and cell structure of the leaves and…) to the point where the beauty of the forest is forgotten. I’m very much looking forward to going through this challenge; it’s the first time for me. You’re free to join us if you’d like.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Some Tips to Reading the Bible in 90 Days — Repost | By the way...

  5. Pingback: Still Time to Join the Bible in 90 Days – Feb. 1 – May 1, 2014 | Sojourner Between Worlds

Leave a Reply

