Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy

Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, SpyI just finished this book by Eric Metaxas today (the unabridged audio version read by Malcolm Hillgartner), and despite its 608-page or 22.6-hour length, I highly recommend it.

My first real exposure to Dietrich Bonhoeffer was back in the early 1990s when I saw the play The Beams are Creaking at a theater at Regent University.  I have been intrigued by him ever since.

For a long time I’ve been interested in the era of history during which Bonhoeffer lived.  Nazi history is such an amazing historical story that if it were not so fully documented it would be difficult to believe.  This book has added to my amazement of that period many times over.

Dietrich Bonhoeffer not only lived during this period, but he lived in it.  In many ways most literal he was on the front lines of the resistance movement against one of the most ruthless and evil regimes of the last half-millennium…and he was a dedicated Christian.  I only mention this obvious fact because it automatically places him firmly in the camp of the Third Reich’s enemies.  And yet he lived out his Christian convictions to the full, even in the midst of such a hostile environment.  Through this book, I feel I have come to know him in a way, and I am so much better for it.

I pray frequently that I may be as dedicated to my Lord as he was, even to death.  This is the strongest Christian I have ever known or studied.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough.  If you are a Christian, a history buff, or even merely curious about either, this book will give you a solid understanding of one of the greatest men of the 20th century, and it may well change your life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

